It’s Monday, What Are You Reading?: Travel Edition

It’s Monday, and I am sitting in the Indianapolis airport as I type, after a wonderful weekend celebrating the marriage of a close friend.

Traveling provides many opportunities to read. Before my trip, I read countless restaurant reviews, travel blogs, directions, and even maps to help me plan my trip. On the flight here, I read several magazines and finished reading The Year of Billy Miller by Kevin Henkes (another favorite author!).

Yes, Kevin Henkes, who writes about Lilly’s silly antics and that mischievous Wendell, also wrote a chapter book that is perfect for almost-third-graders:

TYOBM

The book chronicles the ups-and-downs of Billy Miller’s year in second grade. It is a book about life at home and school, through the eyes of an 8 year old boy. The story is realistic, and Billy is an enjoyable character, who you want to root for. I found myself visualizing my own second grade students as I read the book!

If you like realistic fiction like Junie B. Jones, Clementine, or the Horrible Harry series, give The Year of Billy Miller a try. I think you will really like it!

Today, as I travel home to Atlanta, I’ve been reading a new book.

Rump: The True Story of Rumpelstiltskin by Liesl Shurtliff:

gallery_bookreview-rump-gallery

I am only about a quarter of the way through the book, but I am definitely intrigued by it. It is a retelling of a classic folktale, but in a totally new, original way, expanding the story and telling it from Rump[elstiltskin]’s point-of-view. So far, it’s an exciting story that is hard to put down.

So, what are you reading today?

Leave a Reply

