Book Shopping

This week my boys were away for a few days, so I used some of my quiet time to wander around the book store without running after my children (the moms reading this get this completely). One of my sweet students gave me a gift card to the book store at the end of the school year, which made it even nicer! When he gave me the card, he said, “I know how much you like books, so that’s what gave me the idea.” YES! I love how my students know me so well. (Thank you, JD!)

I spent a loooong time in the bookstore. A long time. Much more time than I would have been able to with my boys there. It was relaxing. I walked around and around, picking up picture books, travel books, and cookbooks. I looked at chapter books that I know and love, and ones that were totally new to me. In the end, I chose these:

Sam's phone 6.11.14 1321

I’m excited to read them all! While I was at the book store, I also read several new terrific picture books. When our kids are able to read chapter books, we often abandon the picture books, thinking of them as “easy reading.” This is such a shame, though, as picture books can be quite complex and often have powerful messages. I always check out the picture book section when I’m in the book store. Even though I didn’t buy them on this trip, they are definitely on my list! Here are a few favorites to check out:

The Day the Crayons Quit by Drew Daywalt

DTCQ

This humorous book is written from the crayons’ point-of-view. It is very clever and funny! You’ll chuckle at the unique complaints of each different color, and you’ll never look at your crayons the same way again!

Rosie Revere, Engineer by Andrea Beaty

Rosie

Terrific picture book with a great message for girls or any child who doubts their ability to make an impact on the world.

The Fantastic Flying Books of Mr. Morris Lessmore by William Joyce

Morris Lesmore

This gorgeous book is definitely appropriate for older elementary students (2nd grade on up). It is beautifully written and conveys a strong message about the love of stories and books. Of course, I loved it!

Some other picture book favorites from our classroom this year:

Exclamation Mark by Amy Krouse Rosenthal

exclamation

The Rough-Face Girl by Rafe Martin

RFG

And our favorite book of the year was one without any words (yes, really!). You should read it!

Journey by Aaron Becker

journey

*Sigh.*

I could go on and on. What are your favorite picture books? Happy reading!

All book cover images in this post are from Amazon.com.

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Book Shopping

  1. Niki Walker says:

    There are two series that have always been our favorite picture books. The first is The Bear Snores On by Karma Wilson and Jane Chapman. The series includes: The Bear Snores On, The Bear Wants More, The Bear Feels Scared, The Bear Feels Sick, The Bear’s New Friend, and The Bear Stays Up (our favorite because it’s about Christmas!) Jane Chapman’s illustrations of bear and his friends are wonderful, but what really hooked us were the amazing rhymes. They are just so fluid, fun to read, and easy to memorize! Nobody rhymes like Karma Wilson!

    The second series that we really love is the Slinky Malinki series by Lynley Dodd. Again, simply amazing rhyme schemes with fun illustrations. Slinky is a mischievous cat who gets himself into trouble because of his need to pilfer neighbors’ things!

    “Slinky Malinki was blacker than black. A stalking and lurking adventurous cat.”

    This one is also fun to read, and Lynley Dodd is very good at throwing some bigger words at her audience. It’s a great vocabulary builder. By the way, Lynley also has a few books about dogs: Hairy McClary (a small black terrier) and Schnitzel von Krumm (a Dachsund.) They are just as enjoyable as Slinky. We are a cat family, so Slinky was our guy. In fact, we like him so much, that Liza dressed up as him for Book Character Dress Up Day at school! We dressed her all in black and she had so much fun gathering things from around the house to be her “pilfered goods!”

    • Thanks for the comment, Niki! We love Bear Snores On in our house, too. I love Karma Wilson’s rhymes. We’ve tried some of the other books in the series and enjoy them, but the original will always be my favorite. 🙂

      I don’t know the Slinky Malinki books and need to check them out. It sounds like my boys would love them! Happy reading!

Leave a Reply

