It’s Monday, What Are You Reading?

IMWAYR

 

I realized last week that I have not given proper credit to two amazing educators and bloggers who started the “It’s Monday, What Are You Reading?” meme. Jennifer Vincent of Teach Mentor Texts and Kellee Moye of Unleashing Readers use this meme to recap their kidlit reading and share with others online. Thank you to Jennifer and Kellee for this terrific idea!

So, it’s Monday! What are you reading???

This past weekend, I finished Rump by Liesl Shurtliff. It is a wonderful updated (and expanded) version of the classic fairy tale Rumpelstiltskin. The tale was woven beautifully, and I enjoyed every minute of this delightful book. Although it’s a little challenging for second/third grade readers, it would be a terrific book to read together as a family.

Since I finished Rump, I have not started anything new for pleasure. I’ve been reading Who Owns the Learning by Alan November, a “teacher book” about shifting from a teacher-centered to a student-centered classroom and letting inquiry drive instruction. Really interesting stuff.

Over the weekend, I also did some reading in search of the perfect recipe, and I’m looking forward to sharing more about that later this week. Stay tuned!

Today I read several Star Wars books with my boys at bedtime. This is currently their book of choice. 🙂

What are you reading this week?

 

 

11 thoughts on “It’s Monday, What Are You Reading?

  1. Catherine Markwalter says:

    Hello Mrs. Steinberg,

    Claire has her nose buried in a book so has asked mom to send her reply. Claire left her current Warrior book at a friends house and won’t get it back for a few days. So she has started reading “Wonder” from her brother’s bookshelf. She says so far it is interesting and a little sad and that she really wonders what Auggie looks like. Hence the book title.

    We just started reading “The Phantom Toolbooth” aloud. One of mom’s favorites. So far, the kids love it just as much.

    Happy Reading!

    Catherine

    • Hi Catherine (and Claire), I love the Phantom Tollbooth. Terrific book. I love the play on words throughout the book. I read Wonder and really loved it. I enjoyed the different points of view and thought it was a great topic to get kids thinking about how they treat others. I’m so late replying– I’m sure Claire is back to Warriors by now! Happy reading!

  2. Liza Walker says:

    Hi Mrs. Steinberg! It’s Liza. I recently finished Bunnicula the first I made a book review on it. And i am sending it to you.

    • Thank you for the book review, Liza! I can’t wait to post it on Monday. I love Bunnicula, it’s such a good book. There are several other books in the series, if you are interested. Happy reading! 🙂

  3. I’ve been meaning to get my hands on Rump – I’ve been reading really positive reviews about it. Plus I love Rumplestiltskin’s character in the TV series Once Upon a time. It would be nice to see another facet of his character.

    • Hi. Myra, thanks for reading! I haven’t watched Once Upon a Time, but I think if you like that type of show, you’ll also enjoy Rump. It’s a great book and perfect for 3rd-6th grade readers. Enjoy! Happy reading!

Leave a Reply

