Reasons for Reading

When I first thought about my Monday post, it seemed that I didn’t read too much this weekend. Hmmm. How could this be? On Friday night, I finished reading Rump, but I didn’t pick up any new books over the weekend. It was not a particularly busy weekend, just one spent mostly with my family.

I took my younger son to the farmer’s market and grocery shopping on Saturday morning. It was a beautiful day outside, and we came home with some gorgeous produce and wild “Copper River” salmon from our day’s adventures.

Later that afternoon, as the boys played at the pool, I told my husband that I needed a break to do some reading. I needed to figure out exactly what I was going to do with the bounty from our shopping trip.

First, I did some research on Copper River salmon. I needed to know what exactly the name “Copper River” meant, and how I should cook it. I read some information online (copperriversalmon.org) and found out that the name refers to the region in Alaska where the fish are caught and that the type of salmon can vary (sockeye, coho, etc). Interesting stuff!

Next, I consulted my trusty cookbooks (have I mentioned before that I like to cook?) to figure out how to cook the salmon without ruining such a beautiful piece of fish. A few books, magazines, and Internet searches later, I saw a simple recipe for salmon with lemon-basil butter that sounded good to me, and I decided to get cooking.

When I started thinking more about the weekend, I realized that I did read, just for different reasons. Reading for enjoyment is usually my purpose for reading, and fiction is my genre of choice. I usually do not pick up non-fiction as my first choice to read, but will often read it to answer a question or find out something new.

This weekend, I read for different purposes: to find out information and how to do something. Different reasons for reading, but reading just the same.

Why did you read this weekend? For fun? For information? To learn how to cook/build/create something? I’d love to hear about it!

For the cooks out there, enjoy this simple, easy, and delicious recipe for you. Happy reading and happy eating!

Wild Salmon with Lemon-Basil-Ginger Butter
Adapted from wholefoodsmarket.com, and an instructional email from my uncle, who cooks seafood for a living (Thanks, Uncle Sandy!)

20140614_183204

1 lb wild salmon fillet, pinbones removed
1/4 stick salted butter, softened
Zest of half a lemon
1 teaspoons lemon juice
1 Tablespoons chopped fresh basil
1/2 Tablespoon grated fresh ginger*
(*I cheated and used the kind in the tube in the produce section)
Salt and pepper
Olive oil

Heat your grill to medium-high heat.

Use a large square of heavy duty aluminum foil or grill foil, and fold over into a rectangle. Lightly oil the foil, and place salmon fillet on top. Salt and pepper the salmon.

In a small bowl, mix together the softened butter, lemon zest, lemon juice, basil, and ginger. Set aside.

Place the aluminum foil with the salmon on top of it onto the grill grates. Cook for 8-10 minutes, depending on the thickness of your salmon. I cooked mine for 8 minutes and it was medium rare. The fish was such good quality, it was delicious this way. If you prefer your fish well done, you will want to cook a few minutes longer.

Using oven mitts, carefully remove foil with salmon on it from the grill, and transfer salmon to a plate. Top with lemon-basil-ginger butter and serve.

 

4 thoughts on “Reasons for Reading

  1. Chiara Krishna-Reddy says:

    Hi and good morning Mrs. Steinberg.This is Chiara. I just finished Charlie and the Choclate Factory. It is so good.They always tell so much detail in the book.I also read Rosie Revere,Engineer.remember the book you recommended.That book was so nice.You know she is like me because I like to make things.I’m always with duck tape,paint or what ever I can find around the house.It’s a great book and thank you for recommending it.-And HAPPY READING-Chiara

    • Hi Chiara, Wow! You’ve been doing some great reading! I love Charlie and the Chocolate Factory. It’s a great book. If you liked Roald Dahl, try George’s Marvelous Medicine or The Magic Finger. I’m also glad you liked Rosie Revere, Engineer. I love new picture books! Happy reading!

  2. Leah Black-Holmes says:

    Hi Ms. Steinberg. I am reading many Nance Drew books and I love them. #1 The Secret of the Old Clock. #2 The Hidden Staircase. #3 The Bungalow Mystery. #4 Mystery at Liliac Inn!!!! #17 The Mystery of the Brass Bund Trucnk!!!! #18 The Mystery of the Moss-Covered Mansion!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! #22 The Clue in the Crumbling Wall!!!!! #24 The Clue in the Old Album!!! I like Nancy Drew because she is a girl detective. I miss you. Love, Leah

    • Hi Leah, Awesome! I loved Nancy Drew when I was little. I love that you’re reading the old ones, too. Stay tuned for next Monday’s post– Liza wrote a review for a mystery book you might really enjoy! I miss you, too. I hope you are having a wonderful summer. Happy reading!

Leave a Reply

