It’s Monday, What Are You Reading?

IMWAYR
Please welcome guest blogger Alex M. to the blog today! He has been reading and rereading the Diary of a Wimpy Kid series by Jeff Kinney this summer. This funny series is always a kid-favorite. Here is Alex’s book review. Happy Reading!
book01
Hi! My name is Alex. This is my review of Diary of a Wimpy Kid (Book 1).  I like Diary of a Wimpy Kid because it’s funny and it’s about this kid who is in middle school named Greg Heffley. He gets bullied a lot by people at school. It’s basically about a kid and how he gets along with other kids in middle school. This book would be good for kids who like comedy because its funny. It’s funny because the scenes are silly. This book is great for third graders on up. If you like humorous books, this series is for you!

 

Thanks, Alex! I really enjoyed hearing Jeff Kinney, the author, speak at the International Reading Association conference this year. He wanted to be a cartoonist, but when that did not work out, he used his talents to write books. It took Jeff years to create the Wimpy Kid series. He spoke about perseverance and hard work to achieve goals. Great message! For more information about the Wimpy Kid series, check out Jeff Kinney’s website www.wimpykid.com.

Today I’m stepping out of comfort zone and reading Ballpark Mysteries #1. I’ll let you know how it goes later in the week!
3 thoughts on “It’s Monday, What Are You Reading?

  1. Adair says:

    Hi Ms. Steinberg!
    I hope your summer is going well! I am reading Mrs. Cooney is Loony by Dan Gutman and I cannot help but laugh because of the silly title. This book talks about children, teachers and their school nurse, Mrs. Cooney, and principal and all of their funny mishaps. I just started reading this book and I am in chapter 11. I will send more of an update once I finish the book but so far I am enjoying it!! Happy Summer!

    • Hi Adair, so happy to hear from you! I love Dan Gutman’s My Weird School series. So funny. I’m glad you are enjoying it! Funny books about school are always a good choice. Happy reading! 🙂

  2. Claire Markwalter says:

    this is Claire M. and I’m writing a book review on Wonder. Wonder is a book about a boy named August who was born with a deformed face. August has never gone to school before intil fifth grade because of surgries. Then one day his parents decide that he needs to go to school. Wonder is a very good book because it teaches you empathy.

Leave a Reply

