IMWAYR?: Guest Blogger Sisters & A Big NYC Trip!

IMWAYR

Today we are featuring two guest bloggers, Liza & Carly W., rising 3rd and 5th graders who have been doing some amazing reading this summer! The girls are excited to share some book reviews with you today about two favorite books from their summer reading adventures.

Speaking of adventures, I am blogging today from beautiful New York City. Ms. Perry and I are attending the Teachers’ College Reading and Writing Project’s Summer Reading Institute at Columbia University. We are listening, reading, writing, and thinking A LOT about the teaching of reading, and we are learning tons! 

Here’s what Ms. Perry and I are reading today:

20140630_120203

Now, for the good stuff– here are Liza and Carly, today’s guest bloggers!

Liza, a rising 3rd grader, shares her thoughts about Bunnicula:

Bunnicula

My name is Liza. I am 8 years old. My book review is on Bunnicula: A Rabbit-Tale of Mystery. It’s the first book in the series. It’s mainly about a rabbit who might be a vampire. It’s very mysterious. In the book, a cat named Chester is sure that the bunny is a vampire, so he asks a dog named Harold to help him find out. Because of the cover I thought the book might be scary, but it really wasn’t. If you like mysteries, you might want to try Bunnicula!

Carly, a rising 5th grader, reviews historical fiction book The Amazing Story of Adolphus Tips by Michael Morpurgo:

Adolphus

When I started reading The Amazing Story of Adolphus Tips by Michael Morpurgo, I didn’t think it was that great of a book. But when Michael found his Grandmother’s diary in his room, I was hooked.

The story went like this: Lily’s (Michael’s grandmother) life was barely affected by the war until the soldiers came to her village and said that they needed the people to move out of their houses along with all of their valuables, so that the soldiers could practice for war. When Lily’s adored cat Tips goes missing, Lily is sure that she went back to the village. When Tips doesn’t come back, Lily decided that she needed to go back and look for Tips herself…

I loved the book and would definitely recommend it to kids my age (10 years old). It’s filled with suspense and every entry is exciting. It was one of the “Must Read” books in my book pile.

Wow! It sounds terrific, Carly. I am definitely adding it to my TBR pile! To read more about this book, and Michael’s other books for children, check out www.michaelmurpurgo.com.

Thank you, Liza & Carly, for the terrific reviews and recommendations. I’m sure you inspired your readers to pick up one of these great books!

What are you reading today?

One thought on “IMWAYR?: Guest Blogger Sisters & A Big NYC Trip!

  1. Thank you dearest Carly and Liza. I loved reading your reviews. I own a lot of Michael Morpurgo titles, but I don’t think I have this one yet. Bunnicula is a book that has been waiting to be read in my bookshelf for quite awhile now, thanks for reminding me that I should get to it soon.

Leave a Reply

