It’s Monday, What Are You Reading?

IMWAYR

Yesterday was my birthday, and my husband and kids gave me the luxury of laying around reading for much of the afternoon (what a gift!). I finished the very loooong novel (for adults) I had been reading for awhile. I loved the book for the first 3/4 of it, and then was disappointed by the ending. Does that ever happen to you, readers? 

So today, I grabbed a few children’s books from my book stack to read. The first one, Greetings from Somewhere: The Mystery of the Gold Coin by Harper Paris is a terrific read for second graders who enjoy mysteries.

greetings

This first book sets up the premise of the series. Twins Ethan and Ella are shocked when their parents announce that they are leaving their hometown. Their mother has accepted a job as a travel writer for the local newspaper, and as a result, they will spend the next year traveling around the world. As they pack and say goodbye to friends, Ethan realizes that he’s lost his gold coin, a gift from his grandfather. The twins must find the coin and solve the mystery before they leave town.

The great thing about this book is that I definitely want to keep reading to find out where Ethan and Ella go on their trip around the world and the adventures they have along the way. This first book in the series just whet my appetite for more! 

Next, I started reading Nancy Clancy: Super Sleuth (can you tell I love mysteries?) because one of my almost-third-graders, Chiara, recommended it. I have to admit that I’ve never read the Fancy Nancy books (I know, I know!) but I am always excited by a new chapter book series for the first to third grade set.

NancyClancy

So far, the book is funny and exciting, and I think kids would love it. In the book, Nancy talks a lot about wanting to be like Nancy Drew. The Nancy Drew series was a favorite of mine growing up, so I can definitely relate to Nancy Clancy’s obsession.

While playing detective and searching for clues, Nancy suggests to her best friend Bree that they go snooping after dark. Bree reminds her that they’re not allowed out that late.

Nancy sighed. It was awfully difficult to be a glamorous detective when your bedtime was eight thirty.

Ha! I think second graders would relate! Author Jane O’Connor hooked me right there with Nancy’s sassy attitude and wit. I’m looking forward to reading more.

What are you reading today?

 

 

3 thoughts on “It’s Monday, What Are You Reading?

  1. I do know a few young readers who are in love with Fancy Nancy – I have personally not read any of the titles yet, but they do look good. I love sassy wit on young female protagonists too. 🙂

  2. Chiara says:

    Hi Mrs. Steinberg, A very Happy Birthday to you!!🎉🎂. I’am so sorry that I didn’t write back. We were in the process of moving, and so all my books were packed.I just started reading Charlie and the Great Glass Elevator by Roald Dahl. The book is about when Charlie goes with Willy wonka in a great glass elevator to live in the choclate factory.that’s all I’am going to tell because I don’t want to ruin the surprise. And I also read Stuart little it’s a really good book. I hope you will like these books.And I think that your sons would like Stuart little. I think it would be a fun book for them. -Happy Reading- chiara😋😄😜🙊🐣

Leave a Reply

