It’s Monday, What Are You Reading? 6.8.15

20140721-210842-76122794.jpg

Join Jen from Teach Mentor Texts and Kellee and Ricki from Unleashing Readers and share all of the reading you have done over the week from picture books to young adult novels. #IMWAYR

Last week, I took my boys to see the musical version of one of their all-time favorite books, Knuffle Bunny, by Mo Willems at the Alliance Theatre here in Atlanta. I was a little worried that the show would not live up to the book (you know how movies are rarely as good as the book), but it was terrific! We loved seeing the book re-imagined into a show. It was hilarious, sweet, and really the perfect musical for young readers/theater-goers.

After the show, we went to the new Seriously Silly!: The Art and Whimsy of Mo Willems exhibit at the High Museum.

At the High Museum exhibit

At the High Museum exhibit

Enjoying the Elephant & Piggie illustrations

Enjoying the Elephant & Piggie illustrations

While there, I learned that Mo has written a series for early readers titled Cat the Cat. Although this series is new to me, it has been around for a little while. The books are purposefully repetitive, predictable, and written in big, bold text to appeal to beginning readers.

We enjoyed this new gem in our house this week, along with our other Mo Willems’ faves, Knuffle Bunny and Elephant and Piggie. This week I also a picked up a few more not new, but new to me, picture books.

Milo’s Hat Trick by Jon Agee is everything you want a picture book to be: engaging, funny, with a great ending. I was definitely rooting for the poor magician who needed a big trick to save his career. The ending left a big smile on my face! I could definitely see my class enjoying this book. Check it out if you haven’t read it. You won’t be sorry!

The Invisible Boy by Trudy Ludwig is another book I’ve seen often, but never picked up to read before. It is about a boy who feels invisible. He is never picked as a partner or playmate. No one ever asks him to play or be on their team. The beautiful writing along with the illustrations by Patrice Barton honestly made me tear up. The feelings of Brian’s loneliness are palpable. When a new student joins the class, he sees Brian and eventually reaches out to become his friend. Next school year, I hope to use this poignant book during a class meeting to discuss inclusion, empathy, and friendship.

Along with these picture book gems, I’m still reading Jennifer Seravallo’s excellent new book, The Reading Strategies Book. Reading teachers, go get this book! Stat! I am really enjoying it so far.

What are you reading this week? Leave your titles in the comments!

8 thoughts on “It’s Monday, What Are You Reading? 6.8.15

  1. How fabulous to see Knuffle Bunny the musical! And then to get to an art show of Willems work. Sigh. We’ve got these other Mo Willem’s titles and they are great. I think Mo Willems is single handedly responsible to turning a generation of children into readers.

  2. The Invisible Boy is a staple must-read for me with my teacher-trainees – I find it such a powerful read, especially when introduced with a group of would-be teachers. Lots to ponder/think about.

    • Yes, I agree, Myra. What a terrific book to share with new educators. I’m sure they all use it in their own classrooms later. Once you’ve read it, it just stays with you, and you want to share it!

  3. I’m reading Daniel Coyle’s The Talent Code: Greatness Isn’t Born. It’s Grown. Here’s How.. As you know, I read it in 2009. I have blogged about it before, and now I am also doodling my Sentence-Phrase-Word Visible Thinking Routine choices for our sharing session in the fall. I’m also reading Sunni Brown’s The Doodle Revolution. I’m enjoying applying my learning from The Doodle Revolution to The Talent Code and A More Beautiful Question.

    Thanks for the heads-up about Knuffle Bunny. One of my former students from W is performing. I have been debating about taking my girl. Now I know that it is a must for this weekend.

    • I will need to get caught up with your blog, for sure. Yes, do see Knuffle Bunny. You will really enjoy it; fun for all ages!. If you haven’t actually read the picture book, you and A should snuggle up with it the night before. It’s one of our faves. I think my boys enjoyed the show so much because of their love of the book. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

