It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

imwayr2b2015

Hi, friends! It’s Monday! What are you reading?

I think I got some insight into young readers this week. I have been trying to read a book for the past few weeks, but I’m just not making a lot of progress. I keep rereading the same chapter over and over. In the meantime, while I am not really reading this book, I find my attention wandering. I am thinking of lots of other things that are happening at home.

The biggest thing that is distracting me right now is that I *think* we are buying a new house (fingers crossed!). So, my reading this week has mostly been furniture catalogs, decorating magazines, and blog posts about the best paint colors to paint your house (who knew there are so many different shades of gray???). I found myself suddenly consumed with all things decorating this week, which is not usually an area of interest for me.

I realized that this is what happens often with kids and reading. When kids are really interested and motivated, they can get hooked on a book, series, or magazine. Often, when kids have a question or wonder, they can get excited about reading to find out the answers. A topic that interests kids can really motivate them to read more. This week I felt like I really understood the importance of interest first-hand!

What have you been reading this week?

One thought on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. I am reading a book called Fierce Conversations. I am reading it slowly, trying to capture every word because it talks about how to have important conversations with others. My pen, my steady companion when I read books like this, has underlined and marked many passages to help me go back and reread when I want to recall something important that I learned from the author. In some places I have marked an explanation point because the passage just makes me laugh.

    I will probably dive into some fiction once the school year begins because I tend to be able to read it faster and in smaller chunks of time. Can’t wait to see what others are reading.

Leave a Reply

